top of page
Search
  • havingfuntrying

Can't see your jewelry? I have a fix for that.


I have a lot of necklaces but hardly ever wear them because they're in one of those jewelry organizers from the Container Store that has clear pockets in them. That's okay for smaller jewelry but not as good for necklaces. I found a cute idea on Pinterest that I debated on. https://soprettyisasprettydoes.com/2013/10/15/jewelry-storage/ It's very versatile. You can leave the canvas white, paint it, or even cover with fabric or paper. Unfortunately, I don't have a good place to hang it. I have very limited wall space in the bathroom and closet. Maybe if I ever get around to cleaning it out and painting.

It's all about using what you have and we have cupboards in our bathroom and the top one has a tall door. An important thing to consider is whether the shelves are flush with the door or not. If they are flush then you'll want to make sure the necklaces don't hang where the shelf is. Mine is set back a bit so didn't have to worry about that.

This is a really easy fix. Take out all the neclaces (and/or bracelets) you have and decide how many you'll be hanging. I bought an 18 pack of the small clear Command Hooks. I got mine at Walmart but Amazon has them as do many other local places. https://www.amazon.com/Command-Hooks-Value-18-Hooks-17006CLR-18ES/dp/B0084M67P8 I then cleaned the surface with Rubbing Alcohol as directed. I decided to hang mine in straight rows but you could scatter them if you prefer and adding in bracelets would be easy either way. I wanted 16 hooks - 8 per row. I took a piece of painters tape the width of the area I was using and put it where I wanted the first row of hooks. I eyeballed it but did check with a level. Mine was 12" so wanted to place one every 1.5". I measured it out with a ruler and drew lines on the tape. Just follow directions on how to place the backing then then the hooks placing them just above the tape. I found I could do 2 at once to speed things up.

Once that was done I used the same tape to do the 2nd row. Use the longest necklace to figure out where you want it however you can always loop it 2 or 3 times if there's not enough room. Leave the hooks for an hour before putting your jewelry on them. I played around a little with the necklaces to see what I wanted and where. One thing you may want to think about before doing this is how much is the cupboard used. They do move when you open so that may bother some people. Mine is seldom opened so is perfect although still haven't got the hang of opening it softly instead of yanking it open.

The beauty of this fix is that it's easy to take down if you come up with something else, if you move, or if you're a renter plus it won't damage your door. I haven't used Command Hooks on a textured wall so can't say if it's the same. Everyone's home and needs are different but hope this gives you ideas for what may work for you.


53 views0 comments
bottom of page