top of page
Search
  • havingfuntrying

A few fun patriotic crafts.


I know this isn't going to help you get crafts done for tomorrow but thought I'd share anyway. There's always next year. I had the first one planned for last year but saved the print outs and made it yesterday. I chose to make mine for Canada Day and 4th of July. If you want to just make one or the other, you can either print out more or just cut out colored paper to alternate. I think that would be cute if it were in red or blue.

There are many templates out there for you to choose from if you prefer. You can choose the shape you want and go from there. Just search online for them and I'm sure you'll find some cute ones. If you don't want to print you can just cut out the shapes on patterned paper that you can get from craft stores. Just remember to make a tab at the top.

My Canadian flags were smaller so I cut out a thicker red paper using the U.S. flag as a template and then glued it with a glue stick. After I had them all printed and cut out, I cut a a piece of twine to fit where I wanted to hang it, in this case on our fireplace. We keep little flat Command hooks on our mantle to hold on various banners. I decided which one I wanted to center and how far apart. I laid it out first to see how many I needed and found out I had extras left over. I was going to use hot glue to attach but they were so light that I decided just to use clear tape on the back after folding the tab over the twine. That way I can change it up easily. I moved them around a little once I had it up which is another good thing about using tape.

This one was something I made 2 years ago. If you'll remember I talked about decoupaging paper on letters. Pick a letter any letter Well this is similar but on a clay pot. I prefer to paint first because I wanted to cover the whole lip and didn't want to mess up the paper. Paint the inside or as much as will be seen if you're doing what I did, paint the rim plus the saucer with chalk paint. Once it was dry I cut out strips of craft paper and put it on with decoupage like in this video. YouTube If you're using this outside I'd probably spray on some kind of protectant. If you want to make a cupcake bouquet like I did you can follow the instructions here: Cupcake Bouquet

Fyi: make sure it's not warm or in the sun because the icing will slide right off which I found out the hard way. :) Of course this doesn't have to fit a theme. It can be whatever color or paper pattern you want. You could also paint the pot instead of decoupaging.

I finished the other side of the Spring Wreath I made. I just used red white and blue ribbons from the assortment I already had. I was originally going to make a proper bow but found a scarf from Dollar Tree and decided to use it. I'm not totally in love with it but it works.

I also made some inexpensive patriotic mason jars that would work for Memorial Day as well. I didn't have any jars and didn't want to buy a multipack so found 2 at Dollar Tree and 1 at Tuesday Morning with the star on it for a total of $5 plus tax I already had red craft paint so just had to get white and navy which were only $1 for both. I used some foam brushes that I had and a paper plate as my pallet. I painted one coat with each color although realized afterwards that I should have painted two white because it would have been better to paint red stripes over white than vice versa. I used toothpicks to randomly put on spots on the white jar but was too small at first so trimmed the toothpick slightly. I had twine already so doubled it around the neck of the jar and tied with a bow. You could do anything you like there. I used them as vases but you could also put candles in them. Right now they're empty and still look good.

That's just a few of many easy patriotic crafts you can make. There are so many great ideas out there, especially on Pinterest. If you're not a member you should consider joining. It's free and not too time consuming unless you let it be. Enjoy your long weekend!


10 views0 comments
bottom of page