top of page
Search
  • havingfuntrying

Fun with Chalkboards


I've been looking at chalkboards online and in stores for a while. I wanted something to write grocery lists and notes but the kitchen has no free wall space. I tossed around painting some chalkboard paint in a cupboard door or even on the pantry door but was reluctant to do something semi-permanent. I also looked at chalkboards to hang but didn't really want to put a nail in the door. A great source for inspiration is Pinterest so I went there and got the idea to use my leftover Con-Tact chalkboard paper which is an easy way to try without the commitment.

If you want the look there are a lot of ideas out there to use chalkboards as home decor, for special events, or even Christmas ornaments. You can even make a chalkboard look using black foam board that's lightweight & inexpensive. Check out DIY Birthday Chalkboard Tutorial or Faux Chalkboard Art You can even use chalk on the foam board. It would make a great gift and the ornaments would be a fun hostess gift during the holidays. I've also used my Con-Tact paper for labels for canisters.

I followed the tutorial but will say lining up and having it stay straight is hard. Mine is not perfect but I'm okay with it. I tried a transfer technique for Groceries. I used Microsoft Word to get the look I wanted, size, & curve then printed out. I shaded some white chalk

on the back of the letters and then traced onto the chalkboard with a pencil around the edges of the letters. Then it was easy to fill in using my colored chalk. I can also do this with a picture or graphic. Go here for more instructions: How to Transfer Letters Tutorial I use a damp paper towel to erase easily. Hobby Lobby has inexpensive chalk which is fine but the pastel chalks I got from JoAnn's are better. Let me know if you have any questions.

(pic 1 is mine, 2 is from my inspiration who's clearly a better artist. Check it out here: Easy Chalkboard Door)

19 views0 comments
bottom of page